WATERLOO, ON, May 21, 2020 — Economical Insurance announced today that John Bowey, Elizabeth DelBianco, Barbara Fraser, Robert McFarlane and Rowan Saunders have been elected to the Board of Directors of Economical Mutual Insurance Company for a further three-year term of office ending at the close of the Annual Meeting in 2023.

Their nominations were listed in the 2020 management proxy circular, dated April 24, 2020, relating to the company's Annual Meeting held today via a live audio webcast. The votes were conducted via a secure electronic method. The following table sets out the "For" and "Withhold" votes submitted in respect of each of the Directors elected:

Nominee Votes For % For Votes
% Withheld
John Bowey 253 98.1 5 1.9
Elizabeth DelBianco 251 96.9 8 3.1
Barbara Fraser 252 97.3 7 2.7
Robert McFarlane 253 97.7 6 2.3
Rowan Saunders 252 97.3 7 2.7

At the Annual Meeting, Ernst & Young LLP was also appointed as auditor of Economical Mutual Insurance Company. The vote was conducted via a secure electronic method, with 255 "For" votes submitted (98.5%) and 4 "Withhold" votes (1.5%).

About Economical Insurance

Economical Mutual Insurance Company ("Economical" or "Economical Insurance", which includes its subsidiaries where the context so requires) is a leading property and casualty insurer in Canada, with approximately $2.6 billion in annualized gross written premiums and over $5.8 billion in assets as at March 31, 2020. Economical is a Canadian-owned and operated company that services the insurance needs of more than one million customers.

For further information, contact:


Media Inquiries:
Sarah Attwells, Director, Public and Media Relations
(T) 877.859.4950, ext. 54042
(C) 416.986.9360